It’s been nearly a century since the last time you went through the same process as you do now.
But, thanks to the work of the state of Arkansas, you now have the ability to make the change, thanks in part to a new law signed by Gov.
Asa Hutchinson on Tuesday.
The law requires couples to file a joint document, in this case, their marriage certificate, that outlines who they are, what their relationship is like, and the court will automatically approve the change if both of the parties are willing to sign it.
And if either party refuses to do so, the court has the power to override the change and make the document void.
“We want to make sure that we’re making it easier for couples to go through the process of getting married,” said Gov.
Hutchinson, a Republican who is also the state’s attorney general.
“That’s why we’re introducing the Arkansas Marriage Certificate Online (ACTO) program.
ACTO provides all Arkansas couples with the same information as our married couples do now, and provides access to court records and related documents to make it easier to make these important changes.
We’re not changing any of the laws that we’ve enacted to ensure that couples can be married in this state.”
The Arkansas Department of Revenue estimates that ACTO will save taxpayers up to $60,000 a year.
The state’s Office of Vital Records estimates that it will cost an additional $50,000 per couple, but said that the savings could be far higher.
“The ACTO program will provide a way for more people to get married in Arkansas, which could save Arkansas taxpayers an additional more than $60 million,” said Attorney General Dustin McDaniel, who is leading the effort to help make the marriage process easier.
ACTOs marriage certificates are free to use online and can be purchased for $7.50 each.
The documents include a photo of the couple, their signatures, and a signature of the person they want to be married to.
It also includes a legal description of the relationship and any other documents related to the marriage.
The application is also accompanied by a copy of the court order that approved the marriage and the marriage certificate.
The fee for the new state-issued marriage certificate is $35.
The Office of Family Services has also launched a program, available to anyone 18 and older, to help those struggling to make changes to their marriage status.
The new online program allows people to make an online application for an online marriage certificate by clicking on the “Marry Me” button at the top of the page.
That will bring up a list of available forms and services, including online marriage certificates, marriage counseling, marriage records, and other forms of services that may be helpful.
“It’s a simple process, and it’s one that we think a lot of people can handle,” said Office of Social Services Director Stephanie Stover.
“Masters in Social Services is working to create a pilot program for people who are considering changes in their relationship, including marriage and civil union.
We’ll provide a lot more details on that in the coming weeks.”